Order for Guest
Your shopping cart is empty.


BC Spotlight Awards

Sea to Sky Award - $20,000

Presented by TELUS
Recognizes the outstanding work of a female key creative on a BC-produced feature or short.
Telus logo
Winner: Kathleen Hepburn, Never Steady, Never Still

Best BC Film Award 
Presented by Harold Greenberg Fund and Encore by Deluxe
$10,000 development bursary sponsored by the Harold Greenberg Fund & $15,000 post-production services credit supplied by encore by Deluxe.
The Harold Greenberg Fund Logo Encore logo
Winner:  Luk'Luk'I (dir. Wayne Wapeemukwa)

BC Emerging Filmmaker Award
Presented by UBCP/ACTRA, AFBS & William F. White
$7,500 cash prize sponsored by UBCP/ACTRA and ACTRA Fraternal Benefits Society, plus a $10,000 equipment credit supplied by William F. White.
UBCP/ACTRA logo AFBS logo William F White International logo

Winner: Kathleen Hepburn, Never Steady, Never Still


Canadian Awards

Best Canadian Film - $10,000
Sponsored by the Directors’ Guild of Canada
Directors' Guild of Canada logo

Winner: Black Cop, (dir. Cory Bowles)


Emerging Canadian Director - $2,000
Sponsored by the Directors’ Guild of Canada
Directors' Guild of Canada logo

Winner: Kathleen Hepburn, Never Steady, Never Still


Best Canadian Documentary - $15,000
Presented by Rogers Group of Funds
Rogers Group of Funds logo

Winner:  Unarmed Verses (dir. Charles Officer)


Best BC Short Film - $5,000
Presented by Creative BC
Creative BC logo
Winner: Rupture (dir. Yassmina Karajah)

Best Canadian Short Film - $2,500
Presented by Lexus
Lexus logo
Winner: Shadow Nettes (dir. Phillip Barker)

Most Promising Director of a Canadian Short Film - $2,000
Presented by An Anonymous Donor and Delta Air Lines

Winner: Vincent Toi, The Crying Conch

Impact Awards

VIFF Impact Award - $5,000
Presented by the Lochmaddy Foundation
Lochmaddy Foundation logo
Winner: BLUE (dir. Karina Holden)

Audience Awards

Super Channel People’s Choice Award
Presented by Super Channel
VIFF festival-goers will determine the winner of the Super Channel People’s Choice Award. The results of this balloting will also determine the winner of several other audience awards.
Super Channel logo
Winner: Indian Horse (dir. Stephen Campanelli)

VIFF Most Popular International Feature 
Winner: Loving Vincent (dir. Dorota Kobiela & Hugh Welchman, Poland/UK, 2017) 

VIFF Most Popular International Documentary
Winner: Faces Places (dir. Agnes Varda, JR, France, 2017) 

VIFF Most Popular Canadian Documentary
Winner: Shut Up and Say Something (dir. Melanie Wood)

Presented by STORYHIVE

This award promotes BC films by encouraging local filmmakers to actively engage their fans through social networks in the lead-up to the festival. Online voting determines which film is the most-anticipated and this “Must See BC” feature receives a special red carper screening following the festival.

Vote now at mustseebc.viff.org.
Storyhive creativity connected by Telus logo
Winner: Shut Up and Say Something (dir. Melanie Wood)

2016 VIFF 2016 Award Winners

Promotional Code

  • If you have a promotion, please enter the Access Code here: