Order for Guest
Your shopping cart is empty.
M/A/D Stream | Vancouver International Film Festival 2018


BC Spotlight Awards

Sea to Sky Award

Presented by TELUS
Recognizes the outstanding work of one female key creative on a BC-produced feature or short. The significant $20,000 prize money can be used for a future production or towards customized training that will further advance the creator's career.
Telus logo


Best BC Film Award 

Presented by Creative BC and Encore by Deluxe
$10,000 from Creative BC and $15,000 in post-production services credit supplied by Encore (Deluxe Ent Services Group)
Creative BC logo   Encore logo

  • Winner: Edge of the Knife (Dirs. Gwaai Edenshaw, Helen Haig-Brown)
  • Jury: Jorge Ignacio Castillo, Marie Clements, Kyle Rideout

BC Emerging Filmmaker Award

Presented by UBCP/ACTRA, AFBS & William F. White International Inc. 
$7,500 cash prize sponsored by UBCP/ACTRA and AFBS, plus a $10,000 equipment credit supplied by William F. White International Inc. This award is open to narrative features that are signatory to a UBCP/ACTRA agreement.
UBCP/ACTRA logo AFBS William F White International logo


Best BC Short Film

Presented by VIFF - $5000 cash prize.


Canadian Awards

Best Canadian Film

$10,000 award presented by the Directors’ Guild of Canada.
DGC Canada

  • Winner: Edge of the Knife  (Dirs. Gwaai Edenshaw, Helen Haig-Brown)
  • Special Mention: Genesis (Dir. Philippe Lesage) and The Grizzlies (Dir. Miranda de Pencier)
  • Jury: Lisa Christiansen, Hugh Gibson, Lori Lozinski

Emerging Canadian Director

$2,000 award presented by the Directors’ Guild of Canada.
DGC Canada


Best Canadian Documentary

$15,000 prize presented by the Rogers Group of Funds.
Rogers Group of Funds logo

Best Canadian Short Film

$15,000 colour grading and/or VFX services credit supplied by Side Street Post.


  • WinnerFauve  (Dir. Jeremy Comte)
  • Jury: Cody Bown, Selina Crammond, Jean Parsons

Most Promising Director of a Canadian Short Film

$2,000 Presented by Gary Harvey + Roundtrip Flight anywhere Delta Air Lines flies.


Impact Awards

VIFF Impact Award - $5,000

Presented by the Lochmaddy Foundation
Lochmaddy Foundation logo

  • Winner: The Devil We Know (Dir. Stephanie Soechtig)
  • Jury: Catherine Olsen, Jordan Peterson, Shannon Walsh

Audience Awards

Super Channel People’s Choice Award

Presented by Super Channel
VIFF festival-goers will determine the winner of the Super Channel People’s Choice Award. The results of this balloting will also determine the winner of several other audience awards.

Super Channel People’s Choice Award 2018

VIFF Most Popular Canadian Feature 2018

VIFF Most Popular International Feature 

VIFF Most Popular International Documentary

In advance of the festival, the #mustseeBC campaign invites audiences to preview trailers, promote BC filmmakers across social networks and VOTE for their favourite films. The film that gets the most fan votes takes the title "Audience Must-See-Film" and gets a special red carpet screening.

Storyhive creativity connected by Telus logo


New This Year - Sustainable Production Excellence Awards

These awards recognize productions and individuals that demonstrate leadership, excellent performance, and commitment to the integration of sustainable production practices. They serve to celebrate and inspire those who work in motion picture and to challenge the industry to strive for excellence in sustainable production.

In 2018 VIFF will recognize excellence in the categories of:

Sustainable Production Impact

This category recognizes production(s) that have reduced greenhouse gas emissions and/or diverted waste from landfill and/or contributed positively to the local community.

2018 Winner:
X-Files, season 11

Sustainable Production Champion
This category recognizes individuals that go above and beyond to advance sustainable production in the motion picture industry. Up to five awards may be given in this category.

2018 Winners:
Kelsey Evans, Keep it Green Recycling
Mark Rabin, Portable Electric
Clara George, Producer
Ronny Fritsch, Producer/Director

VIFF 2017 Award Winners

Promotional Code

  • If you have a promotion, please enter the Access Code here: